Skip to main content

Give staff access to client accounts

This article explains how to use access groups to easily give you and your staff access to your clients' accounts.

How do I use access groups to give staff access to clients?

With access groups you can easily give yourself and your staff access to your clients' accounts in Corpay One:

A staff user who is a member of an access group has access to all clients in that same access group.

In this article we go through three steps that will teach you how to use access groups:

  1. Creating access groups

  2. Assigning staff to access groups

  3. Assigning clients to access groups

How to create an access group

1. Go to Access Groups in the side menu of your company's Advisor Dashboard. Then click the New Access Group button in the top right corner:

2. Enter the name you want for the access group in the Name field. You can choose any name that makes sense for your company.

  • If you want the access group to be created as a subgroup of an existing access group, select the existing group in the "Parent group" drop-down. Read more about parent groups and subgroups further down.

Click the Create button when you are ready:

3. The access group is now visible in the overview together with all the other access groups and subgroups you have created. If you click a parent group, for example "København", you can see all of its subgroups. A side panel also appears on the right with the following information about the parent group:

  • Id: The access group's ID. You can use this ID to easily assign the access group to new staff when you import the staff from a .CSV file.

  • Created: The date the access group was created.

  • Staff: The staff users who are members of the access group.

  • Clients: The clients that are part of the access group.

  • To create a subgroup under a parent group, click the + next to the name of the access group you want to make the parent group.

How to assign staff to an access group

1. Find the user you want to assign to an access group under Staff in the side menu of the Advisor Dashboard, and click the three dots to the right of the user's name in the list. Here, select Change role and permissions.

2. This opens a window where you can define the user's role and permissions, including which access groups the user is part of. Click the drop-down under Access groups, and select the access groups the user should be part of. Click Save to save your choices.

The user has now been assigned to the selected access group. All the access groups a coworker belongs to are shown in the Access groups column of the staff overview.

How to assign an access group to a client

1. Go to Clients in the side menu, and click the client you want to assign an access group to. This opens a side panel on the right showing a wide range of information about the client. Click Edit next to Access Groups:

2. This opens a drop-down where you can choose from all the access groups in your company. Click the access groups you want in order to select them for the client, and save your choices by clicking OK:

3. The access groups you have assigned to the client are shown next to the client's name in the client overview on your company's Advisor Dashboard:

Once you have assigned staff and clients to an access group, all the selected users will have access to the client when they log in.

What is the difference between a parent group and a subgroup?

If a user is a member of a parent group, they also have access to all clients in the subgroups under that parent group. If the user only has access to a subgroup, they only have access to the clients in that subgroup.

How can the client see who from your company has access to their company?

The client can see staff users with access to their company like any other coworker in the client's team overview (Settings > Team).

How do I delete an access group?

Both parent groups and subgroups can be deleted by clicking the trash can icon to the right of the access group's name under Access Groups. When you delete an access group, staff and clients lose their assignment to that access group, and the staff therefore lose access to the client's company in Corpay One.

💡 Note! Staff users are always created as administrators in a client's company when they are added to a shared access group. However, the user's role in each individual client company can always be changed afterwards like any other coworker's role.


More reading

What permissions can you give your staff? Understand staff roles here.
​

Did this answer your question?