When you invite coworkers to your company account, you can assign them different roles and permissions. These affect both what a coworker can generally do in the account and what they can do when adding and approving expenses.
As an owner or administrator on a company account, you can change a coworker's role and permissions by clicking the three dots to the right of the coworker under Settings > Team:
In this menu you can also select a primary department for the coworker, which is relevant if the company account divides coworkers into departments.
Account owner
An account owner is the coworker who created the company account. This can be, for example, the company's accountant or the company's CFO. The account owner can keep track of everything that happens in the company account.
Ownership of a company account can be transferred by the account owner to another coworker by clicking the three dots on the coworker who is to take over ownership, and then clicking Transfer account ownership:
An account owner is the only coworker role that can delete the company account. This is done under Settings > Company details.
An account owner has the following permissions, which can be turned on/off by the owner themselves and by administrators:
Documents submitted by [account owner] require approval.
Can always appoint approvers for documents.
An account owner also has the following permissions, among others, which cannot be changed:
They can always manually appoint one or more coworkers to approve a document pending approval, no matter which other coworkers are already appointed as approvers
They can change integration settings
They can edit the company's payment methods
They can set up and edit workflows
They can change subscriptions and components
They can invite coworkers to the company account (and remove them again)
They can access the vendor overview in Bill Pay > Vendors
Administrator
An administrator has the same permissions as an account owner, but cannot delete the company account. Administrators can be, for example, the company's accountant, the company's CFO or other coworkers with responsibility.
An administrator has the following permissions, which can be turned on/off by the owner and by administrators:
Bills from this coworker are submitted without approval, unless the coworker is part of a workflow.
Can always appoint approvers for documents.
An administrator also has the following permissions, among others, which cannot be turned on/off:
They can change integration settings
They can edit the company's payment methods
They can set up and edit workflows
They can change subscriptions and components
They can invite coworkers to the company account (and remove them again)
They can access the vendor overview in Bill Pay > Vendors
Contributor
A contributor's main job is to add documents to the company account, so this role does not have quite as many permissions as account owners and administrators. A contributor can be, for example, a coworker with less responsibility who only adds documents. A contributor can, however, also be given permission to take part in the company's workflow.
A contributor has the following permissions, which can be turned on/off by the account owner and administrators:
Can only see documents added by the coworker themselves, documents pending the coworker's approval, and documents the coworker has previously approved.
Bills from this coworker are submitted without approval, unless the coworker is part of a workflow.
Can always appoint approvers for documents.
Unlike an account owner and an administrator , a contributor cannot change integration settings, edit payment methods, set up or edit workflows, change subscriptions and components, or invite or change the company's coworkers.
Viewer
A viewer can only see documents that are added to the company account, and nothing else. A viewer can be, for example, a accountant, auditor or project manager who wants to keep track of the company's spending and expenses without being responsible for adding and approving documents.
Continue reading
Learn how to invite a coworker to your company here.
