When a document is added to your company, it will normally require approval from one or more coworkers in the company (unless you have set up a workflow that skips approval for selected documents, and unless the document was added by a coworker who has permission to add expenses without approval).
A coworker is allowed to approve or decline a document if:
... the coworker has been appointed manually by another coworker or appointed automatically by a workflow;
... the box This coworker can always approve/decline all documents is checked under the coworker's permissions;
... the coworker is appointed as the company's default approver.
Documents awaiting approval are found under the Pending tab:
Approval
A document is approved by a coworker clicking the Approve button on the document. The following window then opens, where the coworker has to give a final confirmation of their approval:
If you do not want this extra confirmation to be required in the future when a coworker has clicked Approve, you can simply check the Don't ask again box. This turns on the 1-click approval setting, which can always be turned off under Settings > Advanced > Approval.
Decline
A document is declined by a coworker clicking the Decline button on the document. The following window then opens, where the coworker has to give a final confirmation of the rejection and state a reason for declining the document:
When a document has been declined, it still stays under the Pending tab, and the reason for the rejection is also visible in the document's activity overview:
You now have the following options for the document:
The details of the document, such as the amount or the due date, can be changed so that the reason for declining it no longer applies.
One or more new coworkers can be appointed manually to approve the document. Please note that if approval is to be required from all of the manually appointed coworkers, the setting Manual appointing: require all approvals has to be turned on under Settings > Advanced > Workflow.
A coworker with sufficient permissions can approve the document themselves.
The document can be deleted.




