When should you reverse an accrual?
A reversal cancels an existing accrual.
A reversal is relevant if:
The accrual was created by mistake.
The accrual was created with the wrong number of months and has to be created again.
How to do it
Open the bill with the accrual you want to reverse.
Click (...) and select Manage accruals.
Find the accrual you want to reverse.
Click Reverse.
Confirm the reversal.
What happens when you reverse an accrual?
When an accrual is reversed:
Periods that have already been posted are reversed.
Periods that have not yet been posted will not be posted.
The reversal does not delete existing journal entries in your accounting system. Instead, reversing entries are created, which offset the accruals that have already been posted.
This means that the total accounting effect is 0, while the original entries are kept in the accounting system.
If you still need the accrual, you can create a new accrual with the correct details.
Note
If an accrual with periods in a closed fiscal year is reversed, the system will try to create reversals in the closed fiscal year. This will fail if the fiscal year is closed.
Important: If an accrual was created by mistake and contains periods in a closed fiscal year, we recommend that you stop the accrual using the "Stop" function and select the first month of the open fiscal year.
Important: If an accrual was created with the wrong number of months or the wrong start date and contains periods in a closed fiscal year, you can reverse the accrual and create it again.
In that case, you have to correct the difference between the value posted in the closed period and the correct value after the change yourself.
The periods that relate to the closed fiscal year will also show as failed in the synchronization. We therefore recommend that you avoid this scenario wherever possible.
Related articles
How to accrue a bill
Stop an accrual
Overview of active and historical accruals
